The weight…take a load off

It seems as though in the news, social media, and w/in my life there has been an overabundance of melancholy moments as of late. As human beings it is hard ignore moments or situations that cause us pain or strife. I’ve been pretty consumed by some of these events/circumstances and held a pretty heavy heart the last couple of days. Yes, it’s hard to ignore the hardships in life but I had a moment of clarity this morning….it’s also hard to ignore that sometimes when you need it the most…someone reaches out to you, unexpectedly, and gives that melancholy a relief w/out even intending to. At that particular moment “The Weight” lyrics popped into my head.

Now the meaning behind this song and even the specific lyrics (is it Annie or Fanny?) have been highly debated since The Band released it in 1968. It definitely, depicts the travels of a man to Nazereth and the characters he meets along the way. We know that “The Weight” was inspired by the movies of Spanish filmmaker Luis Bunuel. We also know that there are many biblical references in this song however it’s never been confirmed that these religious connotations represent a religious meaning. Check out this link (The Weight) for further understanding of this song.

What I like most about this song is that its lyrics have an obscure meaning that is open to individual interpretation. For me I have always been drawn to the chorus:

“Take a load off, Annie
Take a load for free
Take a load off, Annie
And (and) (and) you put the load right on me
(You put the load right on me)” -I especially like the melody in the 4th line during the “and” sequence

There is this beautiful moment in any relationship where someone can take away your pain, your worries, your insecurities, your clouded thoughts….sometimes unbeknownst to that individual. To me this is what the chorus represents….the beauty around someone offering to take on your struggles so you can be free of them.

Now the meaning of “weight” in this song has also been debated, but every time I hear this song my interpretation comes to mind as I think fondly of those people in my life who have taken the load off of me and put it right on them.

Use today to be that person for someone else….even if it’s a stranger. While talking to a friend today we expressed the sentiment that you never truly know what is going on with someone else. Think about your words and actions as you go about your daily lives.  There’s a lyric in Jewel’s song ‘Hands’ that says “in the end…only kindness matters”. If only we could all follow this mantra. Imagine the affect you could have on someones life?

5026716018_80b8b4af2e_z

How will you take the load off of someone? Who has been your “weight”?

One response to “The weight…take a load off

  1. Pingback: PatCast by Train’s Patrick Monohan = PHE NOM I NAL!! | allysmelody·

Leave a Reply

